Free your blog!

27 02 2007

During my search for free blogs today I got surprised by the fact that a really small percent of Python blogs (either on Planet Python or Unofficial Planet Python) is licensed under a free license (full list below). I believe it’s caused mostly by omission or unawareness, as in my example — I added a CC button pretty recently, although my intention was to share my knowledge with others from the very beginning.

Most of you already publish your code in open source projects, so you know the benefits of openness. Next step is freeing your ideas and hard work you’ve put into your blog. Choose a license that work for you and open your blog content for collaboration.

For a quick explanation of CC licensing, watch this video:

What follows is a list of Planet Python and Unofficial Planet Python blogs that are licensed under Creative Commons. If I omitted your blog or you’ve added a CC licensing recently, please let me know in the comments, so I can update this list.

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 02 2007
Sylvain Hellegouarch

Mine is as well actually. It’s a good idea to sensitize people to that question but your post might look a tiny bit like pointing finger to those who don’t follow your opinion.

28 02 2007
mousebender

You blog is already listed (under deFuze.org).

I didn’t mean to point fingers at anyone. I’m perfectly fine with people who do not want to license their content with creative commons, as I know and understand reasons which may stand behind their decision. Point of this post is to simply rise awareness and spread a platform for free contribution, so other people, who for example prepare a wikibook on Python, may freely use knowledge from the blogs.

Good example of benefits that a common free platform brings is Python Cookbook where recipes are licensed under Python license by default. Having this kind of a default for blogs would be of great value for the whole community.

28 02 2007
Sylvain Hellegouarch

Sorry i realize my comment turned out to be even more pointy-finger than I thought your post was.

I entirely agree with you on the benefit of the license and I think it’s really a good idea to ask people if they have thought about it at all. Just felt it was a bit commanding at first but I was wrong. My fault ;)

28 02 2007
Anastasios Hatzis

You are right with your action. Some weeks ago I have started my “Behind OpenSwarm” blog about a GPL’d Python project, which happened to get the FSFE as licensor meanwhile. I just didn’t think of licensing also the blog itself, shame on me, but here we go… the blog is separately licensed now. Thank you for this reminder :)

28 02 2007
mousebender

“Behind OpenSwarm” added. :-)

Leave a Reply

